Moonchild

Where I was born, makes me a saltwater conch; when I was born makes me a crab. So, water is definitely part of my life. The sad thing is that I rarely get to see the water.  The last time I went to Florida was 2008.  It’s true, I could have gone since then, but something always holds me back.

ImageMom and Me in Key West

The crabs are at PCB in 2008 and the other photo is me with Mom in Key West..not saying exactly when.  🙂

Summer vacations are pretty much verboten for front-line staff at the library. Summer Reading Club is the single greatest investment the library makes each year. The increase in visits, programs and circulations is staggering. Check-outs go viral and the returns are like waterfalls coursing through the return slots.  And don’t even talk about programs…sigh…

But the other thing that keeps me from going is that Robert is such a home body, more than content to just stay here. Underneath it, he really doesn’t want to leave the cats.  It’s very sweet. He is so attached to them.  I do feel a tug at my heartstrings at leaving them, but a week is not too long to be apart when they are being cared for by Sonny or Gary or friends.

BUT, I’ll be going next summer. We’re going to be celebrating Mom’s 80th birthday…and she loves the beach even more than I do.  She grew up literally on the water – Mount Hope Bay in Fall River, MA. Her father built the house they lived in which was just steps from the shore. Mom grew up with boats and fishing and clam boils. It has been a sadness for her to live here in the middle of the country, but she has taken every opportunity to spend time at the beach. She and Dad owned a condo on the beach in PCB, FL until a couple of years ago.  They can still go down, though the long drives are getting to be too much for them.  But us kids are taking them next summer…so looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

