Spontaneity, Movies & Me@17

I have started several blogs before, but they never amounted to anything. This is a spur-of-the-moment undertaking. I easily become enthusiastic about things, and though this is beginning quietly, I can see myself making it more and more elaborate. My sons inform me that I have ADD – and I have to say I agree. For the most part that doesn’t cause me problems, though it does push the envelope in being on time or getting things done on a schedule, however, when it comes to going in depth or covering vast areas superficially, wow! That’s me.

My dream is to become independently wealthy so that I can indulge all my interests and my extreme curiosity. I buy the occasional lottery ticket, so there is some hope, however small, of making my dream come true.

Robert and I both took a day off work today so that we could go to see The Hobbit together. Meh.  I’m glad I saw it, but it moved a little slowly for me.  It would have been nice if they had included a bit of recap from the previous movie. Unlike most of my friends who have read all the LOTR books and The Hobbit and know them backwards, forward and inside-out, I haven’t and it took me a while to remember the first movie and follow along with this one.  Of course, I love these movies for everything visual – apart from the story – so I thoroughly enjoyed the look of it.  Also, I am a huge fan of fight scenes and there were plenty in this movie.  (I used to have the hobby of fencing many years ago –  foils and epees, not stolen goods…) There were some funny, if gruesome, bits that I loved. And who wouldn’t love that dragon.  Knowing it was voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch was just a plus.

Fencing

17-yr-old me learning to use 2 weapons at once…just happened to get in the paper.

Ah, well, today was a great day, but it is almost over and then it’s back to reality.  I always get depressed when I realize the fun is over and it’s time to get back to work.

So, my goal for this blog – short personal journal – but I originally came here to follow the blogs of others.

Leave a Reply

